This help file is intended to provide you with the information that you may require to make use of the functions available in the Chat Blazer Flash Client. The content herein is divided into the different windows that you will see when using the chat client.
After logging into a room from the Login Window or via direct login, you will see the main chat interface. The chat window is where you will interact with other users in the room through text messages.
The components of the chat interface are described in the table below.
|Chat Text Area||The text area where chat and system messages are displayed.|
|Text Input Area||
Enter your chat message here. This is a single line text input.
|Userlist||The userlist shows all visible users currently in the chat room.|
|Userbar, Expression Bar||See following table.|
|Send||Send the message in the chat input area. You can also send it by hitting Enter when typing in it.|
|Leave||Leave the current room. If you are only in one room, this is the same as logging out. This button may not appear if your administrator has disabled the multi-room feature.|
|Title bar/Room's name||The title bar at the top of the chat window is for you to drag the chat room. It will bring the chat window to the front when clicked.|
|Close||Same as Leave|
|Minimize||Minimize the chat room. Only the room name can be seen after minimizing. A maximize button will appear in place of this button after a room has been minimized.|
Userbar / Expression Bar
You may not see some of the buttons (or even the whole button bar), depending on the client customization.
|Private||Initiate a private chat session with another user.|
|Info||Obtain another user's profile or your own profile depending on the name selected on the userlist.|
Ignore a selected user so that all messages from that user are not displayed. A user ignored by you will have an ignored word displayed beside his name.
|Add Buddy||Add the selected user to my buddy list. The selected user must be a member of the chat site. This button does not appear if you did not login as a member.|
|Bold||Insert bold tags. Note that it does not wrap selected text with tags.|
|Italicize||Insert italics tags. Note that it does not wrap selected text with tags.|
|URL||Open insert URL dialog.|
|Emoticon||Open emoticon window.|
|Online Status||Set your status to "Online" or "Away".|
|Clear||Clear the chat text area.|
The Toolbar is found at the bottom of the main chat interface. It can
be dragged around the whole chat interface.
|Connect||Connects user to the chat server if user is logged out. It will not appear if the user is currently connected.|
|Logout||Logs out user from the chat server if user is connected. It will not appear if the user is currently disconnected.|
|Help||Opens a browser window to display the client's help documentation.|
|Rooms||Maximize the rooms panel if the rooms panel is currently minimized. It will not appear if the rooms panel is not minimized.|
|Options||Maximize the options panel if the options panel is currently minimized. It will not appear if the options panel is not minimized.|
|Buddies||Maximize the buddies panel if the buddies panel is currently minimized. It will not appear if the buddies panel is not minimized or if you did not log in as a member.|
The Rooms panel shows all public chat rooms in the chat site and the number of users in each room. Private rooms are not displayed. It allows you to change to other rooms in the chat site. It also allows you to create and delete your own rooms. A list of rooms created by you is kept at the lower portion of the rooms panel. This facility to create and delete your own rooms may not be available, depending on the client customization.
Get an update of the room listing and the number of users in each room.
|Go to Private||To enter a private room. Since you cannot see the list of private rooms, you will have to know the name of the private room which you want to enter.|
|Go To Room||Go to another room. The room will
be checked for any password-protection it may have and whether the user
has access rights to the room.
If your administrator has enabled the multi-room feature, you will go to the new room while still retaining your presence in your current room(s).
Create either a public room or a private one. You can protect your public rooms with a password. Private rooms do not need passwords since they are not visible to other users unless you explicitly inform them. The Create Room dialog is shown below.
Do note that rooms created by users may or may not be persistent (i.e. saved for future sessions). Your rooms will only be saved if you have logged in as a member and your Chat Administrator has enabled the saving of user-created rooms. Otherwise, your rooms will be deleted once you logout, even though you may not have deleted them prior to logging out. All users in your rooms will be purged if user-created rooms are not made permanent by your Chat Administrator once your logged out.
|Delete||Delete a room you have created. Do note that all users within the room will be purged, including yourself, if you are in the affected room.|
The Buddies Panel shows the list of your buddies, their current status and the rooms that they are in if they are connected to the chat server. It allows you to manage your list of buddies. You add a buddy to your buddy list by clicking on the "Add Buddy" button in the userbar of the chat window.
|Private||Initiate a private chat session with any of your online buddies regardless of which room they are in.|
Obtain the selected buddy's profile.
|Delete||Remove the selected user from your buddy list. If the user being removed also lists you in his or her buddy list, you will also be removed from the other list.|
|Alert my buddies when I login||If toggled, users who list you as their buddy will be notified when you login to the chat site.|
|Alert me when my buddies login||If toggled, you will be notified in the chat area when any of your buddies login, provided they have enabled this notification in the preceding setting.|
In the Options panel, you can change your preferred text properties. Different types of messages can have different colors but font size is applied to all message types. There is a color preview pane which shows the currently selected color. If you have logged in as a member, these settings are stored to a database and will be retrieved the next time you login again.
|Text Properties||You can change your preferred text properties here. Different types of messages can have different colors but font size is applied to all message types.|
|Reject Private Chat||
Automatically reject all incoming requests for private chat sessions. Current private chat sessions can still continue.
|Lock User Selection||Prevent the Userlist in the chat window from returning to an unselected state. If this is enabled, you can keep whispering to another user without having to repeatedly click on his name.|
|Smart Replace||Automatically detect and replace URLs and emoticons.|
|Hide avatars||Do not display avatar images with text messages in the chat area.|
To bring up the Profile window, select your name on the userlist in the chat window and click the profile button on the userbar.
In the Profile window, you can include information here about yourself so that other users can view them. You can also choose your avatar icon. Your avatar icon is seen by everyone in the chat room. Only profiles for members are saved. If you are a guest user, your profile will not be saved.
To revert back to the default avatar icon, deselect any avatar icon you have previously chosen.
To view the profile of other users, select their name on the userlist in the chat window and click on the profile button. The same profile window will appear except that the avatar selection window will not be visible.
Last update: 22 July 2004
The DIO MESSAGE BOARD CHAT