Write DragonMaster for CHAT help

using the chat client

This help file contains most of the information that you may require to make use of the functions available in the Chat Blazer client applet. The content herein is divided into the different windows that you will see when using the chat client.

Topic Index

Main Interface

After you have entered a room from the Login Window or via direct login, you will see the main chat interface. This is where you will see chat messages going through the chat room. You will also use it to chat with other users in the room.

The components of the chat interface are described in the table below.

Component Description
Chat Text Area The text area where chat and system messages are displayed.
Text Input Area

Enter your chat message here. To enter a multi-line message, press Shift-Enter or Ctrl-Enter to go to the next line. To scroll through previous messages that you have keyed in, press Ctrl-Up or Ctrl-Down.

User Profile Click this button to open the Profile Window.
Function Panels

There are 4 function panels, you may not see all of them on the interface as it depends on how your administrator has customized the client.

  • Users
  • Rooms
  • Buddies
  • Options

You can click on the arrow on the right-side of a panel's tab to float the function panel. Once a function panel is floated, you can dock it again by closing the window, i.e. clicking the Close Window icon on the window's title bar.

Banner Rotating banner ads.
Toolbar, Userbar, Expression Bar See following table.
Send Send the message in the chat input area. You can also send it by hitting Enter when typing in it.
Leave Leave the current room. If you are only in one room, this is the same as logging out. This button may not appear if your administrator has disabled the multi-room feature.

Toolbar / Userbar / Expression Bar

You may not see some of the buttons (or even the whole button bar), depending on the client customization.

Button Description
TOOLBAR  
Connect / Logout Connect to the chat server if the user has logged out. Logs out the user if the user is connected.
Float Float the chat interface as a separate window from the browser. A depressed button indicates that the interface is currently floated. Please note that even when the chat interface is floated, you cannot close the applet's browser window. Doing so will cause the applet to shutdown and it will log you out of the chat system.
Help Opens a browser window to display client's help documentation.
USERBAR  
Private Initiate a private chat session with another user.
Info Obtain another user's profile.
Ignore

Ignore a selected user so that all messages from that user are not displayed. A user ignored by you will have an ignored icon displayed beside his avatar.

Add Buddy Add the selected user to my buddy list. The selected user must be a member of the chat site. This button does not appear if you did not login as a member.
EXPRESSION BAR  
Bold Insert bold tags or wrap selected text with tags.
Italicize Insert italics tags wrap selected text with tags.
URL Open insert URL dialog.
Emoticon Open emoticon window.
Send Audio List of audio messages that you can send.
Online Status Set your status to "Online" or "Away".
Clear Clear the chat text area.
Transcript Open the Transcript window which contains all the messages received during this chat session. You can use the Transcript window to copy-and-paste the text in the chat session and save it to your computer's hard disk.


Function Panel 1: Users

The Users function panel displays the other users in the same room as the user. The userbar will only be enabled when another user, excluding yourself, is selected.


Function Panel 2: Rooms

The Rooms panel allows you to change to other rooms in the chat site. It also shows users in other chat rooms. You can also use it to create your own room. The room list will only show public rooms. Private rooms are not displayed.

To view the list of users in another room, simply select the room from the room list.

Function Description
Go To Room Try to go to another room. The room will be checked for any password-protection it may have and whether the user has access rights to the room.
If your administrator has enabled the multi-room feature, you will go to the new room while still retaining your presence in your current room(s).
Refresh All

Get an update of the room listing.

Private Room… Try to go to a private room. Since you cannot see the list of private rooms, you will have to know the name of the private room which you want to enter.
Create

Create either a public room or a private one. You can protect your public rooms with a password. Private rooms do not need passwords since they are not visible to other users unless you explicitly inform them. The Create Room dialog is shown below.

Do note that rooms created by users may or may not be persistent (i.e. saved for future sessions). Your rooms will only be saved if you have logged in as a member and your Chat Administrator has enabled the saving of user-created rooms. Otherwise, your rooms will be deleted once you logout, even though you may not have deleted them prior to logging out. If you go to other rooms, your rooms will still remain.

Delete Delete a room you have created. Do note that all users within the room will be purged, including yourself, if you are in the affected room.

 


Function Panel 3: Buddies

The Buddy List window allows you to manage your list of buddies and to view their current status. You add a buddy to your buddy list by clicking on the "Buddy" button in the userbar of the main interface.

Function Description
Private Initiate a private chat session with any of your online buddies regardless of which room they are in.
Profile

Obtain the selected buddy's profile.

Delete Remove the selected user from your buddy list. If the user being removed also lists you in his or her buddy list, you will also be removed from the other list.
Alert my buddies when I login If toggled, users who list you as their buddy will be notified when you login to the chat site.
Alert me when my buddies login If toggled, you will be notified in the chat area when any of your buddies login, provided they have enabled this notification in the preceding setting.

 


Function Panel 4: Options

In the Options panel, you can change your preferred text properties. Types of messages can have different colors but font size is applied to all message types. Audio alerts can also be modified or set. If you have logged in as a member, these settings are stored to a database and will be retrieved the next time you login again.

You can also choose your set of audio alerts.

Setting Description
Text Properties You can change your preferred text properties here. Types of messages can have different colors but font size is applied to all message types.
Reject Private Chat

Automatically reject all incoming requests for private chat sessions. Current private chat sessions can still continue.

Lock User Selection Prevent the User List from returning to an unselected state. If this is enabled, you can keep on whispering to another user without having to repeatedly click on his name.
Disable Audio Do not play received audio messages. However, you can still send them.
Smart Replace Automatically detect and replace URLs and emoticons.

Hide avatars Do not display avatar images with text messages in the chat area.


Profile Window

To bring up the Profile window, click on your avatar to the left of the text input area.

In the Profile window, you can include information here about yourself so that other users can view them. You can also choose your avatar icon. Your avatar icon is seen by everyone in the chat room. Only profiles for members are saved. If you are a guest user, your profile will not be saved.

To revert back to the default avatar icon, deselect any avatar icon you have previously chosen.

If you see a "..." button in the avatar image list, clicking on it will bring up a dialog window.

You should key in your unique avatar ID assigned to you in this window. This allows you to use an avatar image that is unique only to yourself and not usable by others. If you key in a non-existent avatar ID, you will not have an avatar image. Contact your administrator for more information on how to use this unique avatar feature.

 


Last update: 22 July 2004
The DIO MESSAGE BOARD CHAT